On this page
- What does a dive crossing usually include?
- What does a short private trip include?
- What does a shared boat include?
- Which items most often sit outside the rate?
- How do you read "included" on a quote?
- Which published prices did we check?
- What other questions do guests ask about inclusions?
- Which sources support this page?
- How do I reach the desk?
By Sumbawa Liveaboard Editorial Desk
Sourced figures: prices in the table are published by the operators and guides named, with source and check month. They are not our offers, and they change. Nothing here is legal or medical advice.
Sumbawa liveaboard inclusions change with the type of trip. The three published lists compared here all cover meals and some form of transfer, but dive extras, park fees, drinks, flights and insurance move in and out depending on the seller. Read a dive crossing, a private short trip and a shared boat line by line before treating any rate as complete.
The table sets three real Sumbawa liveaboard lists side by side. "Not stated" means the item does not appear on that seller's list. It does not mean the item is free, and it does not mean it is charged, which is the reason to ask.
| Item | Dive crossing (Komodo Resort) | Private 4 days 3 nights (Sumbawa Tour) | Shared boat, 4 days (Green Rinjani) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cabin | Included, en-suite | Not stated | Not stated |
| Meals | Three meals and snacks | Included | Included, with drinking water |
| Transfers | Included | Included | Bus transfer included |
| Guide | Not stated | Licensed guide included | Guide included |
| Scheduled dives, tanks and weights | Included | Not stated | Not stated |
| Nitrox and rental equipment | Excluded | Not stated | Not stated |
| Snorkelling gear | Included | Included, with a fins caveat | Included, without fins |
| Park or entrance fee | Park and port fees excluded | Entrance fee included | Not stated |
| Bagan fee and local guide boat | Not stated | Included | Not stated |
| Drinks | Excluded | Alcohol excluded | Drinking water only is stated |
| Internet | Basic Starlink included, premium extra | Not stated | Not stated |
| Single cabin supplement | Excluded | Not stated | Not stated |
| Flights | Not stated | Excluded | Excluded |
| Travel insurance | Not stated | Not stated | Excluded |
| Hotel | Not stated | Not stated | Excluded |
What does a dive crossing usually include?
The longest list here comes from Komodo Resort's Sumbawa page: a cabin with en-suite, transfers, scheduled dives with tanks and weights, three meals and snacks, basic Starlink and snorkelling gear. That covers the core of a diving holiday. It is one trip's list, so take it as a worked example and not as a rule for every boat in the region.
The exclusions are where a diver's budget shifts. Nitrox, rental equipment, the single cabin supplement, park and port fees and drinks all sit outside the rate on that page. A guest with a full kit who dives on air and shares a cabin avoids most of these. A solo traveller who wants Nitrox and rents a regulator could pay for nearly every line on that list. Work out which of those guests you are before comparing two boats on their headline rates.
Internet is a smaller example of the same habit. Komodo Resort counts basic Starlink as included on Neptune One and sells a premium package as an extra. Ask what "basic" allows if you need to work from the boat, since the word does not tell you whether a video call will run.
What does a short private trip include?
A private programme can bundle local costs that a dive crossing leaves out. Sumbawa Tour lists transfers, the bagan fee and local guide boat, the entrance fee, meals, a licensed guide and snorkel gear as included in its private 4 days 3 nights programme, with flights and alcohol excluded. For a guest whose main aim is the whale sharks, that is a useful shape, because the small charges tied to the morning at the platforms are inside the rate.
Two details deserve a second look. The programme's last night is spent in a hotel, and the published list does not say how that night is treated, so get it confirmed. The second is equipment wording. Sumbawa Tour lists snorkelling gear except fins and a life vest, wording that can be read as gear without fins plus a life vest, or as gear without either. If you want a life vest in the water, that ambiguity should be cleared up in a message before you travel.
What does a shared boat include?
Less, and the list is short. Green Rinjani lists meals, drinking water, a guide and a bus transfer as included, with travel insurance, flights and hotel excluded. Its boat notes add that the snorkelling equipment comes without fins. That is a fair description of a transport-style trip that also visits islands, and a guest who reads it that way will not be surprised.
What the list does not mention matters as much here. Park entry does not appear, so ask whether it is in your rate. Other drinks do not appear either. On the Lombok route, our article on the 4-day shared boat looks at what travellers report about the boats themselves.
Which items most often sit outside the rate?
Going by these three lists and one operator's cost guide, the repeat offenders are these:
- Flights. Excluded by two of the three sellers and not mentioned by the third.
- Park and conservation fees. Treated differently by all three. La Galigo says these fees are usually paid onboard and handled by the operator. Its estimate is shown in the price table on this page, labelled as an estimate.
- Nitrox and rental equipment. Excluded on the one dive list.
- Drinks beyond water. Excluded or simply absent.
- Fins. A small item, but two of the three lists leave them out, so bring your own if you need them.
- Insurance. Named as excluded by one seller and absent from the other two lists. Assume you are arranging it.
For the amounts attached to these items, go to the hidden costs of a Sumbawa liveaboard, and for the rates themselves see what a Sumbawa liveaboard costs.
How do you read "included" on a quote?
Treat the word as a claim about specific lines, and make the seller write those lines out. A short method:
- Copy the table above and fill in a column for the quote you are holding.
- Mark every blank as a question, and send all the questions in one message so the answers come back together.
- Ask which items are paid onboard, in what currency, and whether a card works at sea.
- Ask whether the rate is per person or per cabin, and what changes if you travel alone.
- Ask for the final total before you pay a deposit.
The same method applies to an offer from us. Requests through the desk can lead to a contract with a company in our group, so test our offer as you would test any other. Our about page names which company issues which contract, and any fee and payment terms would be set out in the offer.
Which published prices did we check?
Rates and fees published by named operators, trip organisers and travel guides, each with its source and the month we checked it. They are not our offers. Rates change, and estimates are labelled as estimates; check the source before you rely on a figure.
| Item | Published price | Source | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|
| Marine park and conservation fees, per trip, depending on itinerary (operator estimate) | US$100 to US$250 | lagaligoliveaboard.com | Nov 2026 |
What other questions do guests ask about inclusions?
Is a Sumbawa liveaboard all-inclusive?
No, not on the lists compared here. Komodo Resort leaves out Nitrox, rental equipment and park fees, Sumbawa Tour leaves out flights and alcohol, and Green Rinjani leaves out insurance, flights and hotel.
Are meals included in a Sumbawa liveaboard price?
Yes, on all three lists compared here. Komodo Resort specifies three meals and snacks, and Green Rinjani adds drinking water. Soft drinks and alcohol are a separate matter, so ask if they matter to you.
Does the price include dive equipment rental?
No, not on Komodo Resort's list. Komodo Resort includes tanks and weights with scheduled dives but excludes rental equipment and Nitrox. Other boats may differ, so ask for the rule in writing.
Are fins included with snorkel gear?
Not always. Green Rinjani lists snorkelling equipment without fins, and Sumbawa Tour's list also carves out fins. Bring your own if a long swim matters to you, or ask the seller whether a pair can be supplied.
Are marine park fees inside the rate?
It varies by seller. Sumbawa Tour lists an entrance fee as included, Komodo Resort excludes park and port fees, and La Galigo says such fees are usually paid onboard and handled by the operator.
Which sources support this page?
- Komodo Resort, Sumbawa liveaboard page
- Sumbawa Tour, private 4 days 3 nights programme
- Green Rinjani, Komodo to Lombok 4 days
- La Galigo, Sumbawa liveaboard cost guide
How do I reach the desk?
Paste the inclusion list from your quote into a message to +62 811-3941-4563 on WhatsApp or to bd@juaraholding.com, and ask about any line it leaves unsaid. The desk answers questions. What any offer from us covers would be written in that offer.
Send the desk your route, dates, and group size. The desk replies in writing.
Ask the desk on WhatsApp bd@juaraholding.com